Hoard's Dairyman 4 Year Colleges listings for dairy students

Choosing a college can be a difficult decision for young people. Searching for and finding the right school can be quite a challenge. We've taken some of the searching out of the equation by compiling this list of schools.

This list provides some information about dairy and/or animal science 4-year programs at colleges throughout the U.S. Data came from surveys that we sent to more than 60 colleges. While most colleges were more than willing to provide information for their school, others chose not to respond and missed the chance to reach our readers and prospective students.

Here's a list of those colleges with animal or dairy science programs that replied to our survey. We encourage you to contact those that interest you. You can also click on the link for a more comprehensive overview of each institution.

ALABAMA

Alabama A&M
P.O. Box 1328, Normal, AL 35762
(256) 372- 4164
Contact: Dr. Gamaleden Abdelrahim
E-mail: gamal.abdrahim@aamu.edu
Website: http://www.aamu.edu/saes/FAS/HOME.aspx
For more information...

CALIFORNIA

California State University, Fresno
Dairy Science Program
2415 E. San Ramon Ave. M/S AS75
Fresno, CA 93740
(559) 278-2971
Contact: Jon Robison
Email: jonr@csufresno.edu
Website: http://asae.jcast.csufresno.edu/

California Polytechnic State University
1 Grand Ave., Dairy Science Dept., Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
(805) 756-2560
Contact: Bruce L. Golden
E-mail: bgolden@calpoly.edu
Website: http://dsci.calpoly.edu/
For more information...

University of California, Davis
Department of Animal Science
1 Shields Avenue
University of California
Davis, CA 95616-8521
(530) 754-7915
Contact: Emma Martinez Alvarez
E-mail: asac@ucdavis.edu
Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu
For more information...

CONNECTICUT

University of Connecticut
Department of Animal Science
3636 Horsebarn Rd.
Storrs, CT 06269-4040
(860) 486-1088
Contact: Jennifer Simoniello
E-mail: jennifer.simoniello@uconn.edu
Website: www.animalscience.uconn.edu
For more information...

FLORIDA

University of Florida
Department of Animal Sciences
Room 100C, Building 459
Gainesville, FL 32611
(352) 392-2186
Contact: Dr. Albert DeVries
E-mail: devries@ufl.edu
Website: http://animal.ifas.ufl.edu/
For more information...

GEORGIA

Berry College
Animal Science Department
P.O. Box 495003
Mount Berry, GA 30149
(706) 236-1737
Contact: Becky McLarty
E-mail: rmclarty@berry.edu
Website: http://www.berry.edu/

University of Georgia
Animal and Dairy Science Department
425 River Road
Athens, GA 30602
(706) 542-6259
Contact: J. Keith Bertrand
E-mail: jkbert@uga.edu
Website: http://www.ads.uga.edu/
For more information...

IDAHO

University of Idaho
Dept. of Animal and Veterinary Science
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2330
Moscow, Idaho 83844
(208) 885- 6345
Contact: Paula Heaton
E-mail: paulah@uidaho.edu
Website: www.uidaho.edu/cals/avs
For more information...

ILLINOIS

University of Illinois
1207 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 300-2303
Contact: Phil Cardoso
E-mail: cardoso2@illinois.edu
Website: http://ansci.illinois.edu
For more information...

INDIANA

Purdue University
915 W. State Street
West Lafayette, In 47907
(765) 494-4806
Contact: Alan G. Mathew
E-mail: agmathew@purdue.edu
Website: https://ag.purdue.edu/ansc
For more information...

IOWA

Dordt College
498 4th Avenue NE
Sioux Center, IA 51250
(712) 722- 6270
Contact: John Olthoff
E-mail: john.olthoff@dordt.edu
Website: www.dordt.edu
For more information...

Iowa State University
119 Kildee Hall
Ames, IA 50011
(515) 294- 3161
Contact: Jodi Sterle
E-mail: jsterle@iastate.edu
Website: http://www.ans.iastate.edu/
For more information...

KANSAS

Kansas State University
134 Call Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
(785) 532- 1207
Contact: Michael Brouk
E-mail: mbrouk@ksu.edu
Website: www.asi.ksu.edu
For more information...

KENTUCKY

University of Kentucky
409 WP Garrigus Bldg
Lexington, KY 40546
(859) 257- 7545
Contact: Bill Silvia
E-mail: wsilvia@uky.edu
Website: http://www.afsdairy.ca.uky.edu/
For more information...

Western Kentucky University
Dept. of Agriculture
1906 College Heights Blvd #41066
Bowling Green, KY 42101
(270) 535-4363
Contact: Jeremy Waddell
Email: jeremy.waddell@wku.edu
Website: www.wku.edu/agriculture
For more information...

LOUISIANA

Louisiana State University
School of Animal Sciences
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225) 578-4574
Contact: Cathleen C. Williams
E-mail: cwilliams@agcenter.lsu.edu
Website: www.coa.lsu.edu
For more information...

MAINE

University of Maine
Dept. of Animal and Veterinary Science
130A Hitchner Hall, Orono, ME 04468
(207) 581- 2770
Contact: James Weber
E-mail: jaweber@maine.edu
Website: http://www.umaine.edu/animlvet
For more information...

MARYLAND

University of Maryland
1415 Animal Sciences Center
Building 142
College Park, MD 20742
(301) 405- 1373
Contact: Libby Dufour
E-mail: libbyd@umd.edu
Website: www.ansc.umd.edu
For more information...

MICHIGAN

Michigan State University
1250 Anthony Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 432-5443
Contact: Miriam Weber Nielsen
E-mail: msw@msu.edu
Website: www.ans.msu.edu
For more information...

MINNESOTA

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
1364 Eckles Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55108
(612)-624- 2277
Contact: Les Hansen
E-mail: hanse009@umn.edu
Website: http://www.ansci.umn.edu
For more information...

MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi State University
4025 Wise Center Drive
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325- 2936
Contact: Jessica Graves
E-mail: jgraves@ads.msstate.edu
Website: www.ads.msstate.edu
For more information...

MISSOURI

University of Missouri-Columbia
S110 Animal Science Building
Columbia, MO 65211
(573) 884-0934
Contact: Tom McFadden
Email: mcfaddent@missouri.edu
Website: http://animalsciences.missouri.edu
For more information...

NEW HAMPSHIRE

University of New Hampshire
30 O’Kane Road, UNH
Durham, NH 03824
(603) 862-1909
Contact: Peter Erickson
E-mail: peter.erickson@unh.edu
Website: www.biolsci.unh.edu
For more information...

NEW YORK

Cornell University
272 Morrison Hall, Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 254-4910
Contact: Mike Van Amburgh
E-mail: mev1@cornell.edu
Website: www.ansci.cornell.edu/dm
For more information...

Morrisville State College
P.O.Box 901, Morrisville, NY 13408
(315) 684-6301
Contact: Steve Mooney, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Dairy Science
E-mail: mooneycs@morrisville.edu
Website: www.morrisville.edu
For more information...

NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina State University
Department of Animal Science
NCSU Box 7621
Raleigh, NC 27695
(919) 515- 3028
Contact: Melissa Merrill
E-mail: melissa_merrill@ncsu.edu
Website: http://www.cals.ncsu.edu/an_sci/home/home.html
For more information...

NORTH DAKOTA

North Dakota State University
Hultz Hall NDSU 7630 P.O. Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58102
(701) 231- 7641
Contact: Megan Kortie
E-mail: megan.kortie@ndsu.edu
Website: www.ag.ndsu.edu/ansc/
For more information...

OHIO

The Ohio State University
2029 Fyffe Court, 221B Animal Science Building
Columbus, OH 43210
(614) 688-3059
Contact: Maurice Eastridge
E-mail: eastridge.1@osu.edu
Website: http://ansci.osu.edu
For more information...

OKLAHOMA

Oklahoma State University
114 Animal Science Bldg, Department of Animal Science
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
(405) 744-6077
Contact: Leon Spicer
E-mail: leon.spicer@okstate.edu
Website: www.ansi.okstate.edu
For more information...

OREGON

Oregon State University
112 Withycombe Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331
(541) 737-1891
Contact: John Killefer
E-mail: john.killefer@oregonstate.edu
Website: ans.oregonstate.edu
For more information...

PENNSYLVANIA

Delaware Valley College
700 East Butler Avenue
Doylestown, PA 18901
(215) 489- 4796
Contact: Bruce Richards
E-mail: bruce.richards@delval.edu
Website: http://www.delval.edu/academics/undergraduate/
agriculture-environmental-sciences/dairy-science
For more information...

Penn State University
324 Henning Bldg.
Department of Animal Science
University Park, PA 16802
(814) 863- 4198
Contact: Jana Peters
E-mail: jpeters@psu.edu
Website: http://animalscience.psu.edu/
For more information...

SOUTH DAKOTA

South Dakota State University
Dairy Science Department
Alfred Dairy Science Hall Room 136
Brookings, SD 57006
(605) 688- 4116
Contact: Vikram V. Mistry
E-mail: vikram.mistry@sdstate.edu
Website: http://www.sdstate.edu/ds
For more information...

UTAH

Utah State University
4815 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84333
(435) 797-2150
Contact: Tami Spackman
E-mail: tami.spackman@usu.edu
Website: http://www.advs.usu.edu
For more information...

VERMONT

University of Vermont
102 Terrill Building
570 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05405
(802) 656- 0155
Contact: Helen Maciejewski
E-mail: Helen.maciejewski@uvm.edu
Website: http://ansci.uvm.edu
For more information...

VIRGINIA

Virginia Tech
Department of Dairy Science 3290
Litton Reaves Hall, Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
(540) 231-5287
Contact Dr. Katharine Knowlton
E-mail: knowlton@vt.edu
Website: www.dasc.vt.edu
For more information...

WASHINGTON

Washington State University
Clark Hall, Room 116, PO Box 646310
Pullman, WA 99164
(509) 335- 5274
Contact: Valorie Fisher
E-mail: fishervk@wsu.edu
Website: www.ansci.wsu.edu
For more information...

WEST VIRGINIA

West Virginia University
P.O. Box 6108
GO38 Agricultural sciences
Morgantown, WV 26506
(304)- 293-2631
Contact: Ms. Gretchen Riggs
E-mail: griggs@mail.wvu.edu
Website: http://ans.wvu.edu/
For more information...

WISCONSIN

University of Wisconsin-Madison
1675 Observatory Drive
283 Animal Sciences Building
Madison, WI 53306
(608) 263- 3305
Contact: Ted Halbach
E-mail: tjhalbach@wisc.edu
Website: http://dysci.wisc.edu/
For more information...

University of Wisconsin-Platteville
215 Pioneer Tower, 1 University Plaza
Platteville, WI 53818
Contact: Tera Montgomery
E-mail: montgomeryt@uwplatt.edu
Website: http://www3.uwplatt.edu/catalog/animal-science
For more information...

University of Wisconsin-River Falls
410 S 3rd Street
River Falls, WI 54022
(715) 425-3704
Contact: Dr. Gary Onan
E-mail: gary.onan@uwrf.edu
Website: www.uwrf.edu/anfs/index.cfm
For more information...

CANADA

University of Alberta
3-18C Agriculture/Forestry Center
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2P5
(780) 492-7007
Contact: Masahito Oba
E-mail: moba@ualberta.ca
Website: www.afns.ualberta.ca
For more information...

University of British Columbia
UBC Faculty of Land and Food Systems
191-2357 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C., Canada V6T 1Z4
(604) 822-2794
Contact: Chris McGill
E-mail: chris.mcgill@ubc.ca
Website: www.landfood.ubc.ca
For more information...

University of Guelph-Ontario
Department of Animal and Poultry Science
Guelph, Ontario N1G2W1, Canada
(519) 824-4120 ext. 53679
Contact: Andy Robinson
E-mail: andyr@uoguelph.ca
Website: www.aps.uoguelph.ca
For more information...