2012 WMMB Election - Candidates Announced

2012 WMMB Election - Candidates Announced

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announced today that 12 nominees are certified eligible for the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) 2012 Board of Directors election.

Here are the candidates, listed by district:
District 2: Florence, Forest, Langlade, Marinette, Oconto and Vilas
Candidate: Connie Seefeldt of Coleman

District 5: Dunn and St. Croix
Candidate: Kay Zwald of Hammond

District 8: Marathon
Candidate: Dean B. Kraus of Stratford
Candidate: Steve Sternweis of Marshfield

District 11: Outagamie and Winnebago
Candidate: Robert Letter of Seymour

District 14: Jackson, La Crosse and Trempealeau
Candidate: Patricia Kling of Taylor
Candidate: Theron Prindle of Alma Center

District 17: Calumet and Manitowoc
Candidate: Kenneth Buelow of Hilbert
Candidate: Rosalie Geiger of Reedsville
Candidate: Patrick Van Groll of Maribel

District 20: Richland and Sauk
Candidate: Sharon Laubscher of Wonewoc

District 23: Iowa and Lafayette
Candidate: Jay M. Staffacher of Darlington

DATCP confirmed that each candidate is an active dairy producer who sells milk into commercial channels and lives in the district up for election. In addition, DATCP certified each candidate’s nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within the district and a notarized "Affidavit of Eligibility" requirement.

To vote, DATCP will distribute mail-in ballots in early April to dairy producers who live within the eight affected districts. Producers who do not receive a ballot by April 16 should call Noel Favia at (608) 224-5140. Elections will be held through April 28, 2012, with results announced later in May. For more election information, visit www.wmmb.com/elections. Candidate biographies will be posted online by April 5.