Improve Reproductive Efficiency in Dairy Farms workshops scheduled for January 2012

Improve Reproductive Efficiency in Dairy Farms workshops scheduled for January 2012

Are you a dairy producer, veterinarian, or consultant interested in learning about the latest innovations in dairy reproductive programs to improve reproductive efficiency and profitability? If so, make plans to attend a UW-Extension Improving Reproductive Efficiency workshop in January.

Topics and speakers include:

– The Economic Value of Improving Reproductive Efficiency. Dr. Victor Cabrera will explain how much your profits could increase by improving you herd’s reproductive efficiency.

– Update on Reproductive Research at UW-Madison. Dr. Paul Fricke will highlight research that provides practical management strategies and assesses new reproductive technologies.

– Mastitis is Not Only about Milk. Dr. Pamela Ruegg will discuss how mastitis can impact the reproductive performance of your herd.

– ReproMoney and How It Can Help You Increase Your Economic Returns. Dr. Connie Cordoba will talk about this new, free program offered to all Wisconsin dairy farmers. She will explain how the program can help you identify which areas of your reproductive plan are slowing down your gains and help you address each issue through an organized plan.

The workshops will be held at nine locations. All meetings run from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and include the same content. Please choose the location best for you. During the workshop you will have the opportunity to enroll in ReproMoney right away!

Jan. 17:
– Fond du Lac County at UW-Extension Fond du Lac office, 400 University Dr., Fond du Lac. Contact: Irv Possin, UW-Extension dairy and livestock educator at 920-929-3171 or irvan.possin@ces.uwex.edu
– Sheboygan County at Chissy’s Pub & Grill, 501 North Mill St., Waldo. Contact: Tina Kohlman, UW-Extension dairy and livestock agent at 920-459-5902 or tina.kohlman@ces.uwex.edu

Jan. 18:
– Jackson County at Club 95, 101 Sand Prairie Road, Hixton. Contact: Trisha Wagner, UW-Extension agriculture agent at 715-284-4257 or trisha.wagner@ces.uwex.edu
– Clark County at Country Aire, F1312 County Road P, Stratford. Contact: Maria Bendixen at 715-743-5121 ormaria.bendixen@ces.uwex.edu

Jan. 19:
– Kewaunee County at Kewaunee County Highway Dept., E4280 County Road F, Footbridge. Contact: Aerica Bjurstrom at 920-388-7141 or aerica.opatik@ces.uwex.edu
– Outagamie County at Jackson Point Sports Grill, N8055 French Road, Seymour. Contact: Zen Miller, UW-Extension dairy and livestock agent at 920-832-5124 or zen.miller@ces.uwex.edu

Jan. 20:
– Columbia County at Columbia County Annex Building, 210 West Conant St., Portage. Contact: George Koepp, UW-Extension agriculture agent at 608-742-9682 or george.koepp@ces.uwex.edu
– Jefferson County at Turner Hall, 301 S. 4th St., Watertown. Contact: Heidi Johnson, UW-Extension agriculture agent at 920-674-7295 or heidi.johnson@ces.uwex.edu

Jan. 26:
– La Crosse County, location TBD. Contact: Steve Huntzicker, UW-Extension agriculture agent at (608)785-9593, or steve.huntzicker@ces.uwex.edu

The registration fee for the program is $10 if you preregister, or $15 at the door, which includes program materials, refreshments and lunch. Please make checks payable to your local county agent office.

For more information about this workshop or the ReproMoney program, please contact Connie Cordoba at 608-265-9746 or mccordoba@wisc.edu or visit the ReproMoney website at http://fyi.uwex.edu/ReproMoney

12.30.2011