DATCP Announces WMMB Election Results

DATCP Announces WMMB Election Results

Ben Brancel, Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP), certified today the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) 2014 Board of Directors election results. Commencing July 1, 2014, the following dairy producers (representing the indicated districts) will begin a three-year term:

District 1 — Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Rusk, Sawyer and Washburn Counties
Ben Peterson of Grantsburg

District 4 — Barron and Polk Counties
Audrey Kusilek of Rice Lake

District 7 — Clark County
David Bangart of Greenwood

District 10 — Brown, Door and Kewaunee Counties
John Pagel of Kewaunee

District 13 — Buffalo, Pierce and Pepin Counties
Lanette Harsdorf of Beldenville

District 16 — Fond du Lac, Green Lake and Marquette Counties
David Schmitz of Fond du Lac

District 19 — Columbia and Dodge Counties
Becky Levzow of Rio

District 22 — Grant County
Ann Kieler of Platteville

District 25 — Green, Rock and Walworth Counties
Stacy Eberle of Monroe

About the Election
There were 11 candidates running for nine board member positions. Of the 3,947 dairy producers in the election districts (per DATCP records), 15% returned valid ballots. That number is down from 21% in 2013 and 18% in 2012. District 22, which had two candidates, recorded the most election participation with 31% of eligible producers voting. The election closed April 26.

For more information on WMMB and the 2014 election, visit www.WMMB.com/election. This site also contains newly elected director biography information.

Return to Industry Buzz.